The Working Holiday visa program is designed to encourage cultural exchange and closer ties between participating countries. The program allows eligible passport holders between a certain age range, to travel to Australia for an extended holiday and to be able to work (work is restricted to a maximum of 6 months with any one employer). 

The visa is granted for a period of 12 months from the date the holder enters Australia. It's possible to extend the Working Holiday visa for a further 12 months if the holder completes 3 months of specified work in regional Australia.   

What criteria do I have to meet? 

Applicants for the subclass 417 visa must:

  • be at least 18 and not yet 31
  • have a passport from an eligible country
  • not have a dependent child accompanying them to Australia
  • have sufficient funds to purchase a return ticket and support themselves during their stay

Eligible countries currently are:

Belgium, Canada, Republic of Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China (including British National Overseas passport holders), Republic of Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom.